CBA announces new rules

CBA is introducing a new set of rules for the 2017-18 season including enlarging the playoff entry from eight to 10 teams.

The Chinese Basketball Association has announced a new set of rules for the 2017-18 season, including enlarging the playoff entry from eight to 10 teams and introducing a CBA Replay Center.

Following in the steps of the NBA, which introduced a Replay Center in the 2014-15 season, the CBA counterpart hopes to enhance the performance of referees and accelerate the replay review process.

The Replay Center can receive live footages from 10 different matches at the same time. During controversial situations on the court, the center will look through the footages and give reference to the arena for courtside judgment. The final decisions will still be made by the referees on the court. The center will also supervise referees’ performances.

Due to limited staff, the Replay Center will only provide service for key matches in the regular season, but will cover all the games in the playoffs.

During the regular season, the matches will be scheduled six days a week instead of previous three or four days to ensure wider coverage of matches.

Due to the World Cup qualifier, the 2017-18 season will have two breaks — November 20-28 this year and February 19-27 next year. 

CBA also plans to introduce competitions for reserve teams to give young players more playing chance.

League regulations, especially those involving punishment, will be revised to regulate players’ and staff’s manners on and off court.

Special Reports